Morland Writing Scholarships Shortlist 2018

The Miles Morland Foundation is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2018 Morland Writing Scholarships. Of the twenty names, five are from Nigeria, four from Kenya, four from South Africa and one each from Cameroon, Cote D’Ivoire, Ethiopia, Ghana, Somalia and Zimbabwe.

Choosing the shortlist seems to get harder every year. We had fewer bad entries this year and the good ones are exceptionally good. We had over 550 entries, our highest number to date, with writers applying from 27 countries. Miles Morland commented, “I can’t think of anywhere else in the world that could produce a shortlist with such energy, imagination and originality. I’d like to see more of the humour for which countries like Nigeria are famous but apart from that the shortlist has just about everything, an astonishing variety.”

The judges, Ellah Allfrey from Zimbabwe in the chair, assisted by Femi Terry from Sierra Leone and Muthoni Garland from Kenya, will meet on 26th November to select the 2018 Scholars. Their names will be announced shortly afterwards.

The 2018 shortlist is as follows:

Heran Abate – Ethiopia

Pwaangulongii Dauod – Nigeria

Edwige Dro – Cote D’Ivoire

Dare Segun Falowo – Nigeria

Muthoni Gichuru – Kenya

Shubnum Khan – South Africa

Jacqui L’Ange – South Africa

Idza Luhumyo – Kenya

Sibabalwe Masinyana – South Africa

Marcelle Mateki Akita – Ghana

Howard Meh-Buh – Cameroon

Pulane Mpondo – South Africa

Wairimu Muriithi – Kenya

Siphiwe Ndlovu – Zimbabwe

Olufunke Ogundimu – Nigeria

Makena Onjerika – Kenya

Mary Ononokpono – Nigeria

Yovanka Paquete Perdigao – Guinea – Bissau

Hassan Santur – Somalia

Kola Tubosun – Nigeria

If you have any questions, please contact Mathilda Leigh on:

Scroll to Top