The Miles Morland Foundation Writing Scholarship


Morland African Writing Scholarship Winners 2023

Morland African Writing Scholarships for 2023 We have four outstanding new Morland Writing Scholars for 2023. We had over 500 entries, all from published authors, from over twenty countries and from the diaspora. Many were new entries, showing the strength of new talent surfacing in Africa, and a number from people who have entered and

Read More »

Morland Writing Scholarships 2023 Shortlist Announcement

Morland Writing Scholarships 2023 Shortlist Announcement: The Miles Morland Foundation is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2023 Morland Writing Scholarships. This year we received just shy of 600 entries from published writers from across Africa. Our shortlist of nineteen was selected based on the combined scores of our readers with each submission being

Read More »

Travel Scholarship Winners Announcement

MMF Travel Awards The Miles Morland Foundation is delighted to announce the results of their first ever Travel Awards. Earlier this year we said that we would give three Travel Awards of £6000 each to allow the winners to take a trip to “somewhere off the wall, off the map, different, and interesting . .

Read More »

Morland African Writing Scholarship 2023 Opening Date

Morland African Writing Scholarships 2023  The Miles Morland Foundation is pleased to announce that the 2023 Morland Writing Scholarships for African writers will open for entries on Saturday 1st July. The deadline for submissions is Monday 18th September. For information on how to apply, please see the page marked ‘Entry Requirements and FAQs’ on our

Read More »

Morland Travel Awards

Morland Travel Awards For the last 10 years, the MMF ( ) has been giving writing scholarships to great African writers so they could take time out to write the books they had proposed, our motive being to enable African writers to get their voices heard globally. From the feedback we have had, our

Read More »

Morland Writing Scholarships 2022 Winners

The judges met this week to decide on the Morland Writing Scholars for 2022. The new Scholars are: Muhammad L. Kejera (Gambia) Neema Komba (Tanzania) Chido Muchemwa (Zimbabwe) Chika Oduah (Nigeria) Lanre Otaiku (Nigeria) The winners each receive a grant of ₤18,000 to allow them to take a year off to write their book. The

Read More »
Scroll to Top